曼丽丘网站使用的Cookie
曼丽丘已经更新了Cookie政策。我们和第三方在本网站使用Cookie来提升您的访问效率、为您提供个性化的内容、优化购物体验以及为您展示相关的广告信息。继续访问本网站代表您同意我们将Cookie保存在您的电脑或设备中。请浏览我们的Cookie政策了解更多Cookie相关信息以及如何管理Cookie设置

28天身心之旅


第19天

第1部分:妈妈的家庭学习策略

从企业主到专职老师,理疗师分享了她管理孩子在家上学的提示和技巧。

你是否曾想过孩子会在家上几个月的学?可能不会。

像许多父母一样,总部位于加利福尼亚州奥克兰的物理治疗师兼斯多特普拉提®认证教练的Magda Boulay现在发现自己已经完全适应一边管理自己的业务,一边作为两个儿子的专职老师——而且很可能持续到本学年结束。

她说:“自学是一个真正的挑战,尽管我认为自己是一位天生的老师,但我从未想到会以这种方式参与这一过程。试图兼顾儿子们的英法双语作业(我自己也说不流利)和自己的业务,例如电话会议和行政工作,真的非常困难。”

现在,经历了4周的在家上学,Magda想出了一些小技巧,为她的8岁和9岁的孩子创造一个更好的学习环境,同时也让自己的工作效率更高。

她的做法如下:

想想好的一面(并做一些简单的事情来让自己开心)

Magda说:“尝试在这种困难的情况下找到积极的一面。”对她来说,这意味着不必每天早上5:30起床通勤上下班,也不必去学校接送孩子。这使她一天相当于又多了1.5到2个小时——睡懒觉的时间。

她也很感激她现在可以花更多的时间来培养孩子的学业成长,并在他们需要的地方提供支持。 “我的小儿子喜欢受到关注,我看着他的阅读和拼写水平稳步提高。他为自己的进步感到非常自豪,我也是。”

抽出时间与家人一起做身心运动

“确保你的整个家庭每天都进行某种体育锻炼。她说:“我的家人一直一起进行身心锻炼(主要是普拉提)以及其他形式的锻炼。”

Magda在孩子们的学习时间里穿插了2-3次的休息时间,让他们在后院玩耍。他们喜欢跑来跑去,踢足球,打篮球,滑板或玩其他玩具。他们俩还组织小比赛,例如谁可以跳绳最久。

两个男孩也非常喜欢和Magda一起做普拉提。她尽可能的让练习比较轻松有趣,而她的孩子喜欢使用小道具的练习。

她最近向他们展示了有关普拉提历史的动画视频,这使他们对这种练习非常好奇。 “我的大儿子在看完视频后立马提了几个问题。之后的第二天,我们就上了一次有史以来最棒的亲子普拉提课程。我希望有一天他会成为普拉提神童!”

提前一天协调你的工作和他们的学校时间

Magda提前计划了她的工作日,并确定何时可以与客户进行虚拟通话,以便她可以根据孩子们的学习安排工作。

“每天早上,我会立即检查孩子们的学校电子邮件和时间表,以了解他们何时进行网课,以及他们需要完成什么类型的任务和作业。我列出了这些任务的清单,以便之后检查。”

也要照顾好自己

“尽管我确实喜欢时不时偶尔休闲,但是不意味着我会放弃经营自己。醒来之后,在孩子们开始上学之前,我每天都会在自己的椭圆机上进行心血管锻炼。我丈夫经常会给我准备给我爱喝的咖啡。我会沐浴更衣,为新一天做好准备【否则我会有些打瞌睡】。白天,我会尽可能抽出时间独自或与孩子们一起做普拉提练习。”

“众所周知,运动可以使我们更健康,感觉更好,它可以使血液循环,减少压力并为一天带来一些乐趣!”

免费28天身心之旅-儿童活动手册!现在就下载。

阅读更多28天身心之旅的内容

Cookies on the Merrithew website
Merrithew has updated its cookie policy. We and third-parties use cookies on this site to improve your experience, personalize content, optimize your shopping experience and to show you relevant advertising. By continuing to use this site you give consent for all cookies to be stored locally on your computer or device. To learn more about cookies and how to manage them visit our cookie policy.

28 Days of Mindfulness


DAY 19

Part 1: Homeschooling strategies from a mom

From business owner to full-time teacher, a physical therapist shares her tips and tricks for managing her kids’ schooling at home.

Did you ever expect to be homeschooling your kids for months? Probably not.

Like many parents, Magda Boulay, an Oakland, California-based physical therapist and STOTT PILATES® Certified Instructor, now finds herself sheltering-in-place, managing her business and her new position as her two boys’ full-time teacher, likely for the remainder of the school year.

“Homeschooling has been a true challenge,” she says. “Though I consider myself to be an innate teacher, I never expected to participate in this process in this way. Trying to juggle my two boys’ French/English bilingual class assignments when I am not fluent, while also attending to my business duties, such as client appointments via virtual calls and administrative tasks, has been very tough,” she says.

Now through week four of homeschooling, Magda has figured out a few tips and tricks to create a smoother school day for her kids, aged 8 and 9, and a more productive workday for herself.

Here’s how she does it:

Start by looking on the bright side (and do simple things that make you happy)

“Try to find the positives in this difficult situation,” Magda says. For her, that means not having to wake up at 5:30 a.m. every day to sit in traffic on her commute to her practice, and not having to drop off and pick up her boys at school. “This has given me back an extra 1 ½ to 2 hours of my day,” she says. That means sleeping in!

She’s also grateful that she can now spend extra time nurturing her kids’ academic growth, supporting them where they need it. “My youngest son loves the individual attention and I see his reading and spelling improving steadily. He is very proud of his progress, and so am I.”

Make time for mindful movement as a family

“Make sure your whole family gets some sort of physical exercise every day. My family has been trying to get both mind-body exercise, mostly Pilates Matwork, as well as some other form of exercise during the day,” she says.

Magda breaks up her boys’ study time with at least two to three ‘recesses’ in the backyard every day. They like to run around, kick a soccer ball, play basketball, skateboard, or play with their other toys. They’ve also had mini competitions, like who can jump rope for the longest.

“Both boys really enjoy doing Pilates with me too. I try to keep it light and fun and they love playing and using the small props,” she says.

She recently showed them an animated video about the history of Pilates on YouTube, which got them really curious and interested in the practice. “My oldest son had several questions after the video. We had our best mama/son Pilates Matwork session after watching it the very next day. I hope someday maybe he will be a Pilates prodigy!”

Coordinate your work and their school schedules the day before

Magda plans her workday in advance, noting when she has virtual calls with clients so she can fit her work around her boys’ schooling.

“Every morning, I check the boys’ school emails and schedules right away to get an idea of when they have school classroom video calls, and what type of assignments and tasks they will need to accomplish. I write out a list of these tasks so I can check them off when they are completed.”

Take care of yourself too

“Although I do love to lounge around from time-to-time, I usually do not feel good if I let daily self-care go. After I wake up, and before the boys start their schooling, I make sure to get in my daily dose of cardiovascular exercise on my treasured elliptical machine. I drink a nice cup of coffee that my husband often makes me and I always need to take a shower, get myself dressed and ready for the day or I will feel somewhat lethargic. During the day, I try to squeeze in time to do my beloved Pilates Matwork with the kids or by myself.”

“As we all know, exercise makes us healthier and feel better, it gets the blood circulating, decreases stress and injects some fun into the day!”

28 Days of Mindfulness - Free Activity Book for Kids! Download now.

Read more from the 28 Days of Mindfulness